Social Studies Grade 8

  •  

     

      Welcome to Grade 8 Social Studies
     
     
     
    Tuesday, April 2, 2019
    Quiz on Section 3, The Americans enter the War, and Key Terms and Notes on Wilson's Fourteen Point Peace Plan.
    Wednesday, April 3, 2019
    Reviewed notes on the Key Terms and Wilson's Fourteen Point Peace Plan.  Assignment:  Read and take notes on The Paris Peace Conference.  Pages 707-709.  Also, Complete the World War I vocabulary puzzle for HW, due tomorrow.  
    Thursday, April 4, 2019
    Reviewed notes on the Paris Peace Conference.  Assignment:  Complete the section on the Treaty of Versailles.
    Friday, April 5, 2019
    Reviewed notes on the Treaty of Versailles.  Quiz on Section 4.  Assignment:  Review on page 710, #s 1-15 in copybooks. 
    Monday, April 8, 2019
    8B:  Reviewed the answers to the questions on the Review for Chapter 24.  8A:  Got the DVD to work, so began to watch Sergeant York.  Will continue tomorrow. 
    Tuesday, April 9, 2019
    Watched Sgt York movie during SS.  Assignment:  World War I  crossword puzzle to help study for the test on Friday, due tomorrow at recess. 
    Wednesday, April 10, 2019
    NO Class due to Lunch at Escondido's. 
    Thursday, April 11, 2019
    Watched Sgt York movie.  Assignment:  Study for Social Studies Test on Chapter 24.
    Friday, April 12, 2019
    Test on Chapter 24, World War I.  Began vocabulary on page 774 for World War II.    
    Monday, April 15, 2019
    Completed the Sgt. York movie.  Vocabulary for Section 1 of Chapter 27, World War II. 
    Tuesday, April 16, 2019
    Corrected errors from test.  Assignment:  Chapter 27, Section 1 World War II.  Key Terms and notes up to Fascist Italy.  
    Wednesday, April 17, 2019
    Happy Easter!
    Monday, April 29, 2019
    Reviewed the Key Terms for Section 1 of Chapter 27, World War II.  Assigned the reading and notes for Stalin's Totalitarian State, Fascist Italy for classwork.  HW:  Nazi Germany (read and take notes).  We will review and discuss on Wednesday.  Please be prepared!
    Wednesday, May 1, 2019
    Reviewed notes on "The Gathering Storm,"  S,talin's Totalitarian State, Mussolini and Fascist Italy and Nazi Germany.  Assignment:  Complete notes for Military Rule in Japan, and American Isolationism.  Also, complete comprehension questions 3,4,5, and 6 in notebook. 
    Thursday, May 2, 2019
    Reviewed notes on Military Rule in Japan and took a quiz on Section 1, "The Gathering Storm."  No assignment given.  Happy Confirmation Day!
    Monday, May 6, 2019
    Assignment:  Political Cartoon activity on page 777 of text.  Worked during class and it is to be completed for HW.  All work is due tomorrow, so be prepared.  You will receive a grade for this assignment. 
    Wednesday, May 8, 2019
    8B:  Began to read Night.  8A:  Completed reading Night.  Assigned:  Comprehension questions which will count as a quiz.  
    Thursday, May 9, 2019
    8A:  Completed Night and discussed project.  Began to work with partners on the project about Holocaust and Survivors.  Comprehension questions are due tomorrow. 
    8B:  Completed Night and began to work on project.  Assigned the comprehension questions due on Monday. 
    Friday, May 10, 2019
    Continued to work on the Holocaust project with partners.  No assignment given.  Reminder:  8B:  the HW from Thursday is due on Monday. 
    Monday, May 13, 2019
    Holocaust project with partners.  All work will be ready for presentation on Wednesday, May 15, 2019.  Section 2 Key Terms and notes are due on Friday, May 17th.  Do not wait until the last minute.  
    Tuesday, May 14, 2019
    Presentations for tomorrow for our Holocaust projects.  Section 2 is due in copybooks by Friday.  
    Friday, May 17, 2019
    Presentations for our Holocaust projects.  Be sure if you did not do the notes for Section 2 of Chapter 27, that you get them in the copybook for Monday. 
    Tuesday, May 21, 2019
    Reviewed notes on Chapter 27, Section 2.  Assignment:  Complete section 3 for tomorrow, Wednesday. 
    Wednesday, May 22, 2019
    Reviewed notes on smartboard for Section 3, Americans Get Into the War, and took a quiz (open notebook).  Assignment:  Key Terms Page 790, and notes on Setting the Scene, Bleak Days Ahead, and The Tide Turns.  Stop at "Opening a Second Front." 
    Thursday, May 23, 2019
    Reviewed notes on Section 4 and completed Section 4.  Quiz on Section 4 Tuesday.  Assignment:  Key Terms on Section 5 .
    Tuesday, May 28, 2019
    Key Terms for Section 5 "The War Ends." and notes up to Japan Surrenders. Study guide given out for final test. 
    Wednesday, May 29, 2019
    Complete section 5 The War Ends by tomorrow, Thursday, May 30th.  Test will be open notebook on Monday, June 3rd.  Make sure your notebook is current.  You may not have photocopied pages of the text in your book.  If you do, you will not be permitted to use it for the test.  
    Thursday, May 30, 2019
    Reviewed our notes for Section 5, The War Ends.  Quiz tomorrow on Section 5, Open notebook test on Monday, June 3rd.  Be sure your notes are current.  No assignment tonight. 
    Friday, May 31, 2019
    Quiz on Section 5 of Chapter 27, "The War Ends."  Open notebook Test on Chapter 27 is Monday.  Read and discussed, "The Boys Who Fought Against the Nazis."  
    Monday, June 3, 2019
    Chapter 27 Open Notebook Test "World War II Era"  No assignment given.